Comparison: watercolour and screen print (paper stencil method)

Paper Stencil With these techniques I was trying to achieve a similar result. I wanted to test how the positioning of certain shapes within one another can produce different visual ends.

For example the screen print shows two key shapes; a circle and square. With similar forms drawn within in them. However when cutting I produced a different result for each; one shows the square/ circle with the shapes, whereas the other shows the shape and not its outer restrictions.

Paper Stencil Screen Print 1

Because this is done through a screen print process the end result is normally much tidier, with neat forms. As well as the added bonus of being able to produce a lot of prints in a short space of time. When doing the watercolour process this speed is not an option as to get a good result its better to take your time over it. This also means that loads can’t be done at the same time. Although, because I’ve spent a lot of time with watercolours I find the material much easier to control. This may just be a case of practising and seeing what screen printing really can do.

watercolour

I personally think that the main downside to this method is that you don’t get the even colour tone that print gives, and also it leaves a lot of room for human error. However, part of me does like how clearly hand done the piece is. Also I don’t have to try and work out in advance what it might look like, all I have to do is draw a few shapes and then fill in the gaps with the watercolour. Although, I have looked at what happens when the colour fill is reversed, similar to the print style.

Test 1

I think that the key thing to move this forward though would be to begin testing what happens when layers are added underneath, as well as whether I can imitate the watercolour painting through other printing methods.

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.