Day Trip to London

I think I’m going to have to buy a bag of sand after this exhibition! Anslem Kiefers works were so think with textures that I wanted to go up really close and feel them, which is exactly what I want to provoke in in people who see my works. This as really opened up my eyes, not only to the darker side of the human physi but also to how small I’ve been thinking by just using paint. It also made me think back to one of my art foundation friends who used sawdust and pva glue to create work, which could also be used to layer into paint.

I also had the opportunity to see Gerhard Richter’s work first hand at the Marian Goodman Gallery. That was a wonderful experience as I have loved his work for a long time, although I have only ever seen his big abstract pieces so it was wonderful to see a wider variety, including the, hypnotic and yet slightly nauseating Strip paintings.

https://www.royalacademy.org.uk/exhibition/anselm-kiefer

https://www.gerhard-richter.com/en/exhibitions/gerhard-richter-3293

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

Leave a Reply

