Janet Cardiff and George Bores Miller

After Watching this in the big question I could help but want to see more:

The shift between phone and reality was odd, but not uncomfortable. Something that is tricky to achieve, watching it felt like a moving illusion. I could imagine a sort of inception being created with this piece. With this form a melting of time is created as a visible shift between the tenses unfolds. The video itself is very calming, giving time and space for the audience to think about what it is experiencing. This also gives a melting of memories, through time, and distorts what we know was present for us and what was not.

I don’t believe that I could incorporate this into my work at present, but this is definitely something I want to keep in the back of my mind if I need something to explore.

http://www.cardiffmiller.com/artworks/walks/bahnhof.html

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

Leave a Reply

