Summary of my first term at Cardiff Met

With a lot going on this term having just moved to Cardiff it was hard to settle into the new brief of inside/outside. I think that to begin with I tried to stay within my comfort zone of simple abstract paintings, my continuous painting was extremely useful but I don’t know how much that actually helps with the brief. At the moment I’m not sure how to continue with my work but I think that I will be rethinking my current outlook on the brief, I’m hoping that the new filled brief will give me some more confidence within my work and allow me to possibly explore new avenues.

One piece that I have been thinking about  is a piece that I did a few years ago on a mirror. I found that acrylic paint works very well on the surface and creates a double layer effect depending on where you stand in relation to the mirror. One line of thought I had was thinking about how we perceive ourselves in a mirror and how others perceive us, I’m not sure how I’m going to create this idea but I have a few ideas of possible lines of inquiry.

I just hope that I can organise myself well enough to work on this brief as well as the field brief.

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

Leave a Reply

