Patrick Caulfield and Julian Opie

These two artist have really been in my mind with the city brief. I think that they’re styles of work might be something worth looking at. I’m not sure that it will be useful for the group projects but for my own work I believe that I might find inspiration from them:

 

Julian Opie –

Julian Opie city

 

 

 

 

Simple lines and basic display of shapes shows a complex city view.

Patrick Caulfield –


15. 'Oh Helen, I roam my room' 1973 by Patrick Caulfield 1936-2005

Although not a city-scape this piece by Caulfield shows the style that I find also beautifully simple, with its thick black lines and selective colours.

What draws me to these two styles is the simplicity, I find cities to be large, complicating and noisy places so in art I believe that the best way to represent them is by stripping some of those things away to just show the core/ basics of the environment.

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

Leave a Reply

