Thinking through drawing

Blind Drawing-

When feeling the object I was quickly aware that it was a chess-piece (a knight). I attempted to feel the object but what I expected merged with what I was feeling to create a drawing that was a squashed over descriptive version of the actual object. The second drawing when I could see it was much carefuller and I was more concerned about drawing it as a correct representation.

How do I draw –

Personally I draw to sketch mostly, usually attempting to capture an idea before it goes. Although this is not an exclusive descirption as my drawing massively depends on how confident I’m feeling at the time. Many of the doodles I do are to pass time whereas large paintings don’t fall into my idea or description of drawing. Having been led to believe that drawing meant trying to show what you see I always struggled to be happy with my sketches, fortunatly my Grandad (also an artist) tried to teach me otherwise and slowly I gained more belief that my style of drawing is just as valuable. Even if I’m not ready to show them as “finished pieces” just yet.

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

Leave a Reply

