Working on the hat stand

wpid-received_10205419683624325.jpeg

This is the hat stand that I started working on. I began to stain the wood a dark brown, sanding it down in places to make it look like bark.

IMAG0156

Once it was dark enough I tested the birch tree drawing that I will calve into the stand.

 

wpid-wp-1432812658507.jpeg

After this I copied it onto tracing paper that I wrapped around the stand and then began calving into the tree:

The carving wraps around the bottom of the stand, but it is a little unclear so I think I need to find a way of defining the difference between the carved tree and the stand.

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

Leave a Reply

