Finishing the hat stand

After carving the bottom of the stand I realised that I needed to do something to the top so that it is interesting across the whole piece. I didn’t really have any ideas so I took a few days to think it over, it was eventually suggested that I use birds some how. I first thought about carving and painting birds sitting on the branches or about to fly from the tree but this might be better shown with a clay or wooden bird sculptures that sit on the branches. So I carved and painted on a flock of birds flying away from the tree that I carved and painted on the bottom section.

IMAG0166 IMAG0164IMAG0165

 

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

One thought on “Finishing the hat stand”

Leave a Reply

