Summary of First year at Cardiff Met

This year has been really fantastic and I’ve been able to develop my practice to a more confident point. As well as creating over 100 blog posts that have made me more comfortable to show and talk about the work I produce.

Subject: 

In the first term it was difficult to get the ball rolling on the Inside/ Outside brief while also trying to get used to a new place and moving away from home. The workshops in the first term were a fantastic way of helping to settle in and begin thinking about what I might create. My first thoughts were to follow a more abstract line or enquiry that explored the layering of ideas and paintings and thought about Inside/ outside in a more 2D way. As the term progressed and I was exploring the works of other artists such as Hepworth and Kandinsky I started to get braver and tried out a few new mediums. It was during this exploration period that I began the continuous painting that has really pushed my thinking and is something I would like to come back to in the future.

During the third term though I had a massive shift in ideas, which I think had been because of an increase in confidence through the field module. I then began working very quickly, with ideas and thoughts moving and developing towards the work I finally produced. First there was the body, which I later decided wouldn’t be enough for me to feel satisfied with showing it. It was after a long discussion with my work that I stumbled on the ball of light and the work of Jessica Drenk which has massively influenced the pieces I have shown (mirror and hat stand).

Field:

The field module was incredibly important to my personal development as I now feel more comfortable within the university as well as comfortable with the thought of collaboration pieces. I was lucky to have a positive experience with both groups the first producing a video showing the city we live in, and the second an installation that explored a sensory experience of Llandaff cathedral.

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

Leave a Reply

