Play and Creativity

To have a purpose and a passion for that means that we are more likely to produce to the best of our ability. We discussed the creative process, specifically points on:

  • preparation
  • incubation
  • illumination
  • verification

This was a useful session as it helped to bring together parts of the project lectures so far, resulting in an understanding of how I might better my own creative process. Particularly in relation to how easy it is to become distracted by phones, or so stressed by a project that good ideas a stunted.

To emphasise how easy it is for phones and internet to distract we did a 20min exercise where we would not be able to look at our phones or talk to anyone, and must create a poem based on ‘Being’. This is what I wrote during a short walk along the river Taff:

Brave magpie perched on the wire

Strong wings balancing his heavy body.

we watch the weak and fading

flash past in yellow and blue,

the flow of blood like the flow

of water through earth’s veins

The chance of life

and the inevitability of death.

I based the poem around things I could see and tried to bring the ideas together simply, but was feeling a little morbid which reflected in the piece. I’m not overly confident about my writing ability, but I was surprised at how easy the inspiration came when I allowed myself to explore what was around me without distraction.

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

Leave a Reply

