Information critique map

image

Due to unforeseen circumstances, I was unable to organise my original plan that involved the gate at the side of the campus. Instead, I put together the map for the rest of information critique so that people would be able to find the work created by my peers.
Although part of me had hoped to draw attention to the gate I am now not convinced that I was going about it in the correct way and that this map was possibly a better piece of work to produce in relation to my work. Whereas the threaded gate idea would have been a replica of my own work it would serve no purpose other than being nice to look at. This map, on the other hand, responds directly to the map that I chose as a starting point at the beginning of the year.
If I was going to create work that acted as a protest against the heavy door at the side of campus that has no obvious use other than to be a daily annoyance, I would produce something more design based. For example attaching signs to the door saying thinks like;
“Caution, unnecessarily heavy door”

or

“Congratulations on finding the most pointless door on campus”

Hopefully, by making slightly more comical signs it will bring a smile to people’s faces as well as potentially provoking a redesign of the gate.

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

One thought on “Information critique map”

Leave a Reply

