Painting with thread

In order to demonstrate why I call the method for this piece “painting with thread” I have filmed myself in the process of “painting”. I find that I make similar gestural movements as when I paint, despite being restricted to the positions of the nails. With varied speeds of movement and gestures I have to consider where the journey of the thread should go, similar to mapping the best positions for paint.

I have also included a link to an audio recording of the noises made while making the piece, it is almost musical, but with minimal tonal quality. Personally I find it similar to listening to white noise; calming but with a sinister, or mysterious quality to it.

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

2 thoughts on “Painting with thread”

Leave a Reply

