Paintings

abstract

This is a small abstract painting that is really important as it is it the first that I have wanted to do for ages. It is a relief to feel the inspiration and the ideas coming back after having a bit of a block.

I noticed that my style has changed in small details, but the element that really stands out to me was my need to cover the painting in a black and white layer. Originally I wouldn’t use the two colors so obviously, but it felt like visually breaking down the barriers that have been inside my head to the point where I might be able to start really painting properly again.

imag0958_1

 

 

 

 

 

As a second example of this block is this piece of work that I forced myself to do. I used objects that had been in my Grandads studio and desperately tried to compose an artwork that I was happy with, However, my lack of confidence in myself meant that I limited myself to blue, black and white, colour’s I wouldn’t normally use together, suggesting cold and limited emotional feelings towards painting at that moment. I am hoping that I can start to move forward from these paintings

 

I am hoping that I can start to move forward from these paintings positively and constructively.

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

Leave a Reply

