Lone Boat Painting

imag1119_1

When feeling particularly upset I began painting, although I felt previously that I was starting to feel better this painting is very dark. It represents how I felt in that moment, very isolated and very lost. However once I had finished the boat and its lone sailor I began to feel better, it was then that I added the small addition of the shooting star as a symbol of hope and the future.

imag1120

 

The piece reminded me of Caspar David Friedrich‘s ‘The Monk by the Sea’, where a lone monk stands, staring out onto a bleak and stormy horizon;  “With nothing but land, sea and sky to measure him by, his physical presence is rendered fragile and hauntingly ambiguous” (LINK)

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

3 thoughts on “Lone Boat Painting”

  1. You can certainly see your enthusiasm in the article you write.
    The sector hopes for more passionate writers such
    as you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment, I hope to push my work further and continue to explore themes that might be difficult for people to face. In the hope that the more open we are to more emotional discourse, the less trapped we might feel, something that, in my experience leads down a very dark path.
      I repeat my thanks for your kind words!

      Like

Leave a Reply

