Narratives

I have always loved stop-motion animation, I think the way that the style bridges the gap between artistic skill and story telling. There are two examples that I have seen recently that I feel I need to reference due to the excitement that they made me feel. I am going to be working in paint medium this year but it might be interesting to look at documenting a painting and create an abstract narrative in a stop motion style. Realistically though I am referencing these films because of the physical response I had from watching them, it was a very emotionally stimulating experience.

Kubo and the Two Strings:

I heard one person describe the narrative as predictable but charming, and I wouldn’t disagree, once the story starts moving it is easy to guess what might happen. It has a very fairy tale feel that is easy to follow, but what really grabs the attention is the style of the film that maintains focus through well-made character models and fleshed out sets and extras. This has actually become the first movie that I would call my favorite movies.

Keaton Henson – Small Hands

Working with director Joseph Mann and puppeteers Jonny Sabbagh and Will Harper, Keaton Henson’s lyrical story is brought into a visually narrated world. The movements of the puppets are so well thought out and semi-realistic that it pulls at the heart strings. Without making the story grotesque is subtly explores the feelings of loss, loneliness and the thin line between life and death.

 

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

One thought on “Narratives”

Leave a Reply

