Remembering Why I Paint

imag1118_1

The canvas began controlled and over complicated, but after getting frustrated i took my brush and pulled all the paint downwards. Then with a smaller brush I through the black and white at it. After a few days I went back to it and added the  colour forms. I believe that this piece isn’t overly successful but it has had a positive effect on me, as an artist; it has reminded me why I paint and the things that I love about painting. It is possible to see how I still draw inspiration from Richter, Mondrian and Kandinsky, but hopefully, I can begin to find my own style and form my own ideas and methods of working. The biggest challenge that I think I need to begin tackling is to discover a theme that improves my style instead of just focussing on the aesthetic experience of the paintings that I produce.

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

2 thoughts on “Remembering Why I Paint”

Leave a Reply

