James Abbott McNeill Whistler

Image result

The nocturne paintings of Whistler are stunning! The ghostly, misty and deep tonal quality of the paintings are incredible. As a lover of the works of Turner I can’t believe I’ve not seen his work before, but I think that is due to the fact that I have always been drawn to the brighter more fiery colours of Turner and abstract artists. Whereas no I am thinking more about absents of light and the control of colour through white and black layering.

 


“I say I can’t thank you too much for the name ‘Nocturne’ as a title for my moonlights! You have no idea what an irritation it proves to the critics and consequent pleasure to me—besides it is really so charming and does so poetically say all that I want to say and no more than I wish!”

 

 

Image result

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

Leave a Reply

