Abstract Expressionists @ Royal Academy of the Arts

There is one thing that I took from the exhibition that I thought was crucial to the movement; the work is a reflection of darker times, a collection of people attempting to understand the environment that they were in. This has started me thinking that I need to consider my own situation and try and draw from it. In a way that is not disrespectful to grief, but instead allows me to process it better rather than bottle it up as I have been doing.


Hans Hoffman – Idolatress I

Idolatress I, 1963 - Hans Hofmann

This was the first piece to catch my eye as I walked into the exhibit. Naturally, it was the bright colours that initially drew my to it, but the marks and textures of the painting meant that I needed to linger.



Another comment that I’ve noted from the exhibit was that the abstract expressionist needed a ‘deep knowledge of art history’. As it is a hybrid of movements; the abstract and the expressionist as well as exploring narratives from other movements.

Arshile Gorky – nighttime enigma and nostalgia

Image result for arshile gorky nighttime enigma and nostalgia

The shapes of this piece intrigued me, as well as the lines and use of ink. This is definitely something that I might consider thinking about.


Willem De Kooning – Composition

Image result for willem de kooning collage composition

I’m not sure this is the exact one from the exhibit but it shows the gestural marks that fascinated me with his work as well as the use of colours.



Barrett Newman – Midnight Blue

Image result for midnight blue barnett newman


Ad Reinhardt – Abstract Painting No 5

Ad Reinhardt ‘Abstract Painting No. 5’, 1962
© ARS, NY and DACS, London 2016


Clyfford Still – 1994 No 1 

Image result for clyfford still

I have put a few examples of the pieces that were in the exhibit  but I think I will be doing separate posts for some of these artists, especially as they are incredibly relevant to the work that I am trying to produce.

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

3 thoughts on “Abstract Expressionists @ Royal Academy of the Arts”

Leave a Reply

