Colour Theory – Josef Albers

I have understood the basics of colour theory because I believe all artists should have a core knowledge of colour in order to use it. However, I have never widened that information through research.

Image result for josef albers colour theory two small squares the same colour

I have started this research by reading Interaction of colour, which utilises mathematics and logic to understand colour. The abstract depth of dark light and tone that helps the eye to create natural foreground and background even in 2D pieces.

I am hoping that through further exploration this will aid my own practice, as well as thinking about geometric aesthetics. I am happy with the structural paintings I’ve done so far, but they would need to be better informed.

 

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

One thought on “Colour Theory – Josef Albers”

Leave a Reply

