Summary for Formative assessment – November

Statement:

Although it is nice to be painting again, I have struggled with finding the purpose for my paintings. I do feel like I have started to move in the right direction contextually but there is still work to be done in that regard;

imag1179_1.jpg

The emotional turmoil that I have experienced has definitely been an overriding theme so far, even if I am not sure how to articulate this very well. The Lone Boat Painting  would be a good example of this, the uncertainty mixed with a feeling of hope. It was thanks to a visit to Mark Rothko’s work at the Tate Modern and watching Kubo and the Two Strings that I started to come to terms with what I was feeling, and started to think about ways that I used to create work; through layering and abstract use of colour. This rediscovery of how I enjoy working has thus informed theremembering why I paint and ‘rain falls after discovering Norman Lewis‘ work. Although with these works, and the studies ( 4 , 5 , 5.5 ) that follow, I feel like my focus on emotional acceptance (through the journey of grief) has slipped to one side, I do feel that they are tools to help me learn about what I hope to achieve. Coupled with my newly started research into the Abstract Expressionists and Colour Theory, I hope that I can move forward with the theme once I have become a bit more comfortable with the two contexts, which is partially why have included the Pekka Kucha to show how I am still being inspired by artists and images that I am familiar with, but would like to further that information.

Although I feel like a bit of a broken record at the moment, I feel that the reason I am so drawn to the theme of grief and death is that I am struggling to articulate my emotional situation and I hope to be able to produce something that helps me, as well as possibly helping an audience to process their own losses, because we all go through loss and death, but process it very differently.

imag1224_1.jpg

Documentation:                    Contextualization:

(1) Lone Boat Painting                                                   (1) Tate Modern – Mark Rothko

(2) Remembering Why I Paint                                    (2) Kubo and the Two Strings

(3) Rain Falls                                                                                (3) Norman Lewis

(4) Dark Studies                                   (4) Abstract Expressionists (and Pekka Kucha)

(5) A4 Studies and Structural Paintings                  (5) Colour Theory – Joseph Albers

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

Leave a Reply

