Degree Show proposal – 04/02/2017

My practice is currently exploring the aesthetic movement of colour and shape within a space. This exploration is currently taking the form of acrylic paint on paper which gives a smooth texture while still allowing the human marks and errors to show. While the theory behind the work needs improvement I am certain that with more experimentation I will be able to produce a successful final piece for presentation in the degree show.

I expect the work to consist of several large pieces of paper with acrylic paintings on them. I prefer to work in threes and so this pattern will continue here with three sections to the piece. I will continue to experiment with the smaller A4 pieces until I have found a form that I am satisfied with, while also trying to upscale the work to A1. Based on the time it takes to do the A4 I imagine, the larger pieces will take approximately 2/3 weeks to produce.

No technician required other than assistance in wall hanging. Framing may be required depending on what I decide closer to the time of the degree show.

I request for my work a naturally lit space with three walls to give each piece the required breathing room while still providing them with space to display their set style and pattern. I am undecided as to whether I wish these walls to create a confined triangular space for the audience or three flat walls, but I believe this will be decided once more large-scale tests have been done, and with further consultation with tutors.

Estimated costing: £150 with paper, acrylic paint and basic framing.

cost reduce if framing is not chosen.

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

One thought on “Degree Show proposal – 04/02/2017”

Leave a Reply

