Amsterdam – Stedelijkmuseum

I was so incredibly excited for to visit this museum as I had been unable to the last time I was in Amsterdam (same as the Van Gogh museum), additionally to this it is the 100 year anniversary of De Stijl. A Dutch movement that includes one of my favourite artists:

Piet Mondrian.

Although Kandinsky has been mentioned by peers when looking at my work, the main source for my desire to work with the relationship of colours and shapes begins with Mondrian. It is my belief that Mondrian, within the movement, took abstraction to its absolute limit, breaking visual experiences down to its core senses; colour and form. Mondrian understood the science of aesthetic art and played with it, creating a style that shifts into modernism and minimalism.

For my own work, I believe that I am still at the first stages of enlightenment, hopefully moving forward to the creative prowess of Mondrian and his peers.

De Stijl:

“Reitveld describes how the principles of combination and collaboration can be made visible in manufactured objects… by expressing collective interdependance.” Going on to use the example of three joining pieces of wood making a chair. Similarly, the artists and designers of the movement used this ideal to create work that explored the collective aesthetic of form and shape; how two lines and a square might become interdependent to create a successful painting, and then either simplified by the rules of Mondrian or complexity added, such as Bart van der Leck’s work. Which expands the possibility in shapes used, negative and positive space on the canvas, as well as additional structural features.

I was also introduced to the work of Natalia Goncharova, who had a painting in the exhibition that reminded me of my own work. It has a more cubist feel than the modernist work that I am normally drawn to but the shapes, and gestural marks are ones that I very much enjoy producing. There is a thought that I might look into more cubist influences in order to free up the gestural element of my paintings.

 

Tinguely:

Although not directly relevant to my work directly I had great fun in the Tinguely exhibition! The moving machines were exciting to watch and the anticipation between being able to start them off just added to the experience.

 

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

One thought on “Amsterdam – Stedelijkmuseum”

Leave a Reply

