9x A4 Structural Painting

Finally feeling able to paint without hindrance after my dissertation I got straight to work on this larger piece. It is a unified painting that was done on nine separate A4 pieces of paper. This allows me to test ideas out and select pages that I feel are more successful and others which are not quite as much, while also having a piece that is aesthetically pleasing as a whole to look at. When working on the larger scale paper I found that I was not as precise with my controlled lines and so produced a slightly softer outcome, this method of working allows me to practice painting larger scale without feeling pressure from the size of the paper.

I need to do a few tests with the larger scale paper but I am beginning to think that this style of collection works well as it separates the visuals into manageable chunks rather than bombarding the audience with colour. For example this painting has large sections of warm colours that are cooled and separated by the white lines and small separations in the paper. Ultimately it comes down to whether or not I want to bombard the audience with colour or allow them space to process each section.

 

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

One thought on “9x A4 Structural Painting”

Leave a Reply

