Carmen Herrera

The 100 years show

Although Herrera was working since the 1943 her work has created a link between the artworks of the 1950’s and the 2000’s.  The documentary above talks about when galleries discovered her and how her work is not being protected after so many years. Her stories give insight into the changes of the art world and make reference some of the sexist attitudes that she faces as a female artist.

I admire her, and her work and she has become a bit of a hero in my eyes. Watching her documentary really inspired me to have confidence in the work that I produce, because it might not be everyone’s cup of tea, but there are always people out there searching for the beauty that I can create.

The geometry in Herrera’s work is very crisp and hard-edged, but as I look at her older work a see how her process has continued to mature until now, where her paintings only supply the least amount of information but the most about of visual intrigue. In 80+ years I hope I am fortunate enough to have honed my style and skills into something akin to its purest from like Herrera has had the opportunity to do.

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

One thought on “Carmen Herrera”

Leave a Reply

