Naming the work

42AB (Ithaca)

If you remember the code that I made for the smaller piece it will help with understanding the name of this series. Although I have decided that the name will have two parts to it, one being a simplification of the code and the other being a reference from my surroundings. I will explain these in this post, but future iterations of the work will not have the explanation but will be open to interpretation.

Code:

(2+5)A + (4+1)B | (3+6)A + (2+5)B | (4+1)A + (3+6)B

7A + 5B | 9A + 7B | 5A + 9B

7A + 9A + 5A + 5B + 7B + 9B

= 21A + 21B

=42AB

While I am aware that this might not be how algebra works exactly it is how my code for this colour series has been decided.

Reference:
While painting the large pieces I have been listening to The Odessey on audio books. It struck me how much of a challenge it was for Odysseus to return home to Ithaca. For this series, I have chosen the name of his hometown as a reference for the struggles that I have had to face getting to this point. I feel like I have been on a great adventure myself, with so highs, lows and unpredictable turns.

The reference part of the title means that even if a series code is the same as another the reference aspect will always be different. I could have chosen from lyrics of songs that were being played by others or something that was said, but I will always try to choose the most relevant reference based on the situations that I am surrounded by while working.

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

Leave a Reply

