Degree Show Build

When I first saw the map I was excited as I had the perfect number of walls! However, after a health and safety check, it was decided that the half wall would restrict access to the MFA study area. This means that I will have fewer walls to work with, and so need to work out a different way of hanging the paintings, or hanging only three of the pieces.

I decide that I need to make the best of this and after re-measuring I came up with a way of presenting the work that might actually end up looking better than the original portrait rotation. I worked out that the walls and two paintings at a landscape orientation are the same size. I, therefore, have been playing with how to balance the wall space with the size of the paintings. The main thing is that the walls are used but with not too much of a gap between each one. The landscape orientation does actually seem to be the better option because it will give a more intense colour experience as it will have less white wall at the top and bottom, making it more of a pillar of colour.

I am also trying to work out where I am going to put the statement in relation to the paintings. I would like the statement to be the first thing that people encounter and then look across at the pieces. Also, I will say that I am concerned that if audiences want to step back they might knock into the ceramic work behind them, which I have discussed with the artist. She has said that she is unconcerned with this but I think is planning to change her set up slightly to take this into consideration.
The main moment that I worked out this new method of presenting the work was when I was looking back over my blog. While looking at an image of the A2 paintings, I thought about how it would look landscape:
This is how I now see the paintings being displayed but on the larger scale, and so the next diagram shows two of the preferred ways of hanging the paintings but it will ultimately come down to what happens when I have the work in front of the wall.
 
Update 08/05/17:
After the weekend it was agreed that an extra half wall would be added to the 3 walls. This has meant that I have a new half wall to prepare, which is no worries as I have plenty of time. As well as meaning that I can return to my original wall hanging design!
Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

One thought on “Degree Show Build”

Leave a Reply

