Artist Statement and Final Post

When I began the Fine Art course I was confident in the work that I produced, unaware of the journey that I was beginning. I understand that the list below could include posts from before 3rd year but I feel that the previous work was not as informed as my current project and I would like to show the steps that I took to achieve the work that I have set up for the exhibition. The journeys that I present at the start of the second year do show signs of my curiosity in colour and form but I did not push the idea at that point.

If you were to scroll back through my time at Cardiff Met it is possible to see the full transformation through my work. As I step out of the protective covering that is being a student I am excited by the future, but mostly I am glad that I can say that with everything I have had to face these three years I know that I have become a stronger person able to tackle whatever the world has to throw at me.

Documentation:
1. Painting on larger scale!

2. Colour codes (Full set images)

3. Studies in red, yellow and blue

4. 9x A4 Structural paintings

5. Structural colour studies

Contextulisation:

1. Contemporary Artist (collection)

2. Wassily Kandinsky

3. Sean Scully

4. Carmen Herrera

5. Josef Albers

Installation of Degree Show work 1 & 2

Link to Presentation (Shared on Google Drive)

 

Artist Statement:

42AB (Ithaca)

This colour series explores the contemporary condition of colour within geometric forms. Inspired by the philosophies of early 20th Century theorists, who collectively explored the potential of colour and form. My investigations have allowed me to re-imagine colour theory with new possibilities for how colour can be approached in contemporary painting. I offer the viewer a vibrant experience that is separate from the familiar bombardment of day-to-day visual encounters.

Indulge me for a moment and imagine every possible colour; Reds. Blues. Yellows. Let them fill your mind. Now I invite you to see what I see.

http://www.jessyplantart.co.uk

Published by

Jessy Plant

A Brighton born artist, now studying a Fine Art Degree at Cardiff Met Uni.

Leave a Reply

